
Historical view of the forest hotel „Stieglitzenkrug“
The Stieglitzenkrug through the ages
The „Stieglitzenkrug“Feldberg lies in one of the most charming Natural landscapes of Mecklenburg, above the Haussee lake, in the middle of a landscape conservation area and surrounded by 7 nature reserves. Nowhere else in this glacial terminal moraine region are such diverse natural beauties to be found so close together.
The „Stieglitzenkrug“has a chequered history. Around 1860, it was built as a wooden refreshment pavilion and, following its reconstruction in solid construction in 1914, it developed into Feldberg's largest excursion restaurant. Alongside the hall with its barrel vault, which is still preserved today, it also featured a beer garden with 1,200 outdoor seats situated within the high beech forest.
With the outbreak of the Second World War, the era of the „Stieglitzenkrug's“temporarily ended as a pub. Misuse during the war and several short-term leases afterwards left the „Stieglitzenkrug“ in a desolate state.
The dilapidation of the house began with the takeover of the lease and the subsequent purchase by the Bau-Union Potsdam stopped in 1957. With the construction of an economic building and a accommodation building with 35 overnight options, the foundation stone for the Waldpension was laid. Through expansion buildings, such as bungalows, swimming pools and children's holiday camps, the „Stieglitzenkrug“to a holiday home that was used all year round by the employees of the Potsdam Construction Union and their relatives as a recreation and training facility.

The historic hall, built circa 1927

The beer garden of the old excursion restaurant with 1,200 open-air seats in 1927
Following the political change, the „Stieglitzenkrug“also to the outside world. The dedicated members of staff very quickly managed to transform this establishment from a former company holiday home into a competitive guesthouse and restaurant business.
Today the renovated and modernly furnished rooms and holiday homes, that Restaurant as well as the Forest Terrace equally good conditions for day-trippers, holidaymakers, and seminar participants alike. The staff of the „Stieglitzenkrug“ are happy to assist in planning a varied leisure programme.
In addition to traditional dishes, our kitchen also offers Mecklenburg specialities. Particularly recommended are our turkey specialities and especially our „Roast turkey on a spit„.
The „Stieglitzenkrug“ also serves as a venue for Seminars a good name. The building features two fully equipped training rooms for 20 and 40 people respectively. For large-scale events the historic hall with 180 seats can be used.
In 2010, the Waldpension became the Forest hotel. The hotel classification by DEHOGA Mecklenburg-Vorpommern was successfully completed. The hotel achieved 3 stars. Prior to that were numerous investments such as: modern flat-screen TVs and clock radios in the rooms, available Wi-Fi for interested internet users, public internet access in the building. A modern Children's playground which further improved the conditions for families.
The „Stieglitzenkrug“hat all year round open. The surrounding area of the house is charming at any time of year. Be it the fresh green of the trees and bushes in spring, the shady mature beech forests and the clear lakes inviting you to swim in summer, the impressive autumn colours or the landscape enchanted by frost, snow and ice in winter.
I'm„Stieglitzenkrug“begin two of the most Walking routes. One leads via the high-level trail to the Reiherberg, situated 145 m above sea level. From there, you have an impressive view of the Großer and Kleiner Haussee with their islands and the Amtswerder peninsula, as well as the town centre of Feldberg. The other path leads along the shore of the Haussee, via the Feldberger Hütte to Feldberg. We recommend the Kneippweg by the boathouse as the starting point for this hike. You can then walk the first 400 m directly along the shore.

